En-ti-tle-ment

Back in the day” before the internet we youngsters, of the pre-techo age, had to consult books and materials in print.  If we wanted to learn something, write a research paper, or define a word we consulted encyclopedias or a dictionary.  The most common reference to defining words was Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary. 

Because I am old school, I did the same with my thoughts and how it relates to the term entitlement.  I mean, if I am writing a book in the topic wouldn’t it be good to be sure that there is a common definition in use?  That being said, here is how Merriam-Webster defines entitlement from their on line tool (yeah, I’m also a part of the techo-boom), Merriam-Webster’s Learners-Dictionary:

Meaning:

1 [noncount] a : the condition of having a right to have, do, or get something ▪ my entitlement to a refund b : the feeling or belief that you deserve to be given something (such as special privileges) ▪ celebrities who have an arrogant sense of entitlement

I think that sums it up perfectly!  Therefore, when I speak of entitlement, I will be using;

  • The condition of having a right to have, do, or get something; and
  • The feeling or belief that you deserve to be given something.

The definitions above are credited to Merriam-Webster’s Learners-Dictionary.  The specific site and link can be found at: http://www.learnersdictionary.com/search/entitlement.

Leave a comment

Filed under Entitlement, Expectations, Overview

Leave a comment